SA - Emerging Architect Prize Tour with Dino Vrynios

SA - Emerging Architect Prize Tour with Dino Vrynios

2021 Emerging Architect Prize Tour with Dino Vrynios

7th June 2022
6pm to 8.30pm ( Doors open at 6pm Event will commence at 6.20pm )
SAHMRI Auditorium, Level 3
North Terrace, Adelaide


The Emerging Architect Prize (EAP) has been developed to recognise an individual emerging architect or architectural collaboration’s contribution to architectural practice, education, design excellence and community involvement, which advances the profession’s role within the public arena. The Emerging Architect Prize is an initiative of the Australian Institute of Architects Emerging Architect and Graduate Network (EmAGN).

The National Emerging Architect Prize Winner travels to every state and territory, presenting a ‘show and tell’ of their works, experiences and architecture. Join us as this year as we hear from the 2021 National Winner, Dino Vrynios. 
Guest speakers will be Sally Wilson - Director of Archaea and winner of 2021 SA EmAGN Emerging Project Award, Erin Crowden - Senior Architect at Proske Architects and the 2020 SA Emerging Architect Prize winner and former EmAGN National President, and Anthony Balsamo - Director at Walter Brooke and the 2017 National Emerging Architect Prize Winner. 

This tour is sponsored by the Institutes Major National Partner, Bluescope.


Dino Vrynios - 2021 National Emerging Architect Prize Winner

Dino Vrynios has continuously and passionately engaged himself in all aspects of architecture and the community, tirelessly searching for and achieving his studio motto, “Make better.” After graduating from the University of South Australia, he quickly established a high-responsibility career within practice, while determinedly contributing to many new initiatives within the Australian Institute of Architects as well as the broader local community. Dino’s dedication to work outside his practice is exemplary, including: co-founding the Festival of Architecture and Design (FAD) and undertaking the role of creative director; developing and expanding the Future Forum initiative in partnership with the South Australian chapter of the Institute; creating the 20 Minute City Podcast in collaboration with Citymag; researching modular construction and co-founding commercial organizations Escapod and MDLR; and sitting on the board of directors for Tutti Arts, a disability arts not-for-profit. Dino’s tireless work ethic and entrepreneurial spirit have seen him receive the Jack Hobbs McConnell Travelling Fellowship (2015), Indaily’s 40 Under 40 award (2020) and multiple state architectural awards within his previous practice. After a frank acknowledgement of the toll a heavy workload can have on individual wellbeing, Dino re-evaluated his direction and established Das Studio with his partner in 2019. The practice has grown rapidly and become a “home” for a group of mostly young graduates and recently registered architects in which knowledge sharing, mentoring and wellbeing are a focus. Dino has proven himself to be an influential and entrepreneurial leader as he continues to spread his enthusiasm about architecture and its capacity to create a better world.

Sally Wilson - 2021 SA EmAGN Project Award Winner

As director of Archaea, Sally Wilson has received numerous Australian Institute of architects awards for residential and commercial projects. Sally specialises in architecture and interior design that dissolves the distinction between internal and external, ensuring that spaces internally reflect the materials often seen on the external of her homes. She creates bespoke small details where she explores all levels of detail to create a well-crafted space with particular attention to the micro interior detailing from furniture design and small touch points. Her designs are tactile and personal.

Erin Crowden - 2020 SA Emerging Architect Prize Winner

Erin is a registered architect focusing on bespoke residential architecture and highly custom ventures. With a core belief of creating sense of place shaped by feeling, her work is finely crafted to celebrate daily life and elevate the ordinary to a thing of beauty. Extending beyond practice, she strives to embody a collaborative mentality and is heavily involved in the wider architectural community, actively supporting development and progression of the next generation of architects, in particular women, within the profession. Erin is the Immediate Past EmAGN National President, 2020 SA Chapter EAP winner, previous AIA National Councillor, contributing writer for The Local Project and has sat on multiple awards juries and committees at both state and national levels.

Anthony Balsamo - 2017 National Emerging Architect Prize Winner

Anthony is an active and engaged member of the profession who has a genuine enthusiasm for high quality outcomes. He is an experienced practitioner and design leader as Director at Walter Brooke where he has been employed for the last 18 years. He graduated from a Bachelor of Architecture at the University of Adelaide in 2003 with First Class Honours. He is the recipient of multiple state and national awards in architecture and urban design. He was the state winner of the SA Emerging Architect Prize in 2016 and in 2017 received the National Emerging Architect Prize.


Free for Institute members 
$20 for non members

Refreshments will be provided.                                                                                                                          

Tour Sponsor