WA - Emerging Architect Prize Tour with Dino Vrynios

WA - Emerging Architect Prize Tour with Dino Vrynios

2021 Emerging Architect Prize Tour with Dino Vrynios

Tuesday 31 May 2022
Blue Carpet Space, School of Design and the Built Environment, Curtin University
Kent St, Bentley


The Emerging Architect Prize (EAP) has been developed to recognise an individual emerging architect or architectural collaboration’s contribution to architectural practice, education, design excellence and community involvement, which advances the profession’s role within the public arena. The Emerging Architect Prize is an initiative of the Australian Institute of Architects Emerging Architect and Graduate Network (EmAGN).

The National Emerging Architect Prize Winner travels to every state and territory, presenting a ‘show and tell’ of their works, experiences and architecture. Join us as this year as we hear from the 2021 National Winner, Dino Vrynios, with previous WA winner Louise Ward. 

This tour is sponsored by the Institutes Major National Partner, Bluescope.


Dino Vrynios

2021 National Emerging Architect Prize Winner
Dino Vrynios has continuously and passionately engaged himself in all aspects of architecture and the community, tirelessly searching for and achieving his studio motto, “Make better.” After graduating from the University of South Australia, he quickly established a high-responsibility career within practice, while determinedly contributing to many new initiatives within the Australian Institute of Architects as well as the broader local community. Dino’s dedication to work outside his practice is exemplary, including: co-founding the Festival of Architecture and Design (FAD) and undertaking the role of creative director; developing and expanding the Future Forum initiative in partnership with the South Australian chapter of the Institute; creating the 20 Minute City Podcast in collaboration with Citymag; researching modular construction and co-founding commercial organizations Escapod and MDLR; and sitting on the board of directors for Tutti Arts, a disability arts not-for-profit. Dino’s tireless work ethic and entrepreneurial spirit have seen him receive the Jack Hobbs McConnell Travelling Fellowship (2015), Indaily’s 40 Under 40 award (2020) and multiple state architectural awards within his previous practice. After a frank acknowledgement of the toll a heavy workload can have on individual wellbeing, Dino re-evaluated his direction and established Das Studio with his partner in 2019. The practice has grown rapidly and become a “home” for a group of mostly young graduates and recently registered architects in which knowledge sharing, mentoring and wellbeing are a focus. Dino has proven himself to be an influential and entrepreneurial leader as he continues to spread his enthusiasm about architecture and its capacity to create a better world.

Louise Ward

2021 Western Australian Emerging Architect Prize Winner
A former Chapter Councillor of 4 years at the Australian Institute of Architects WA Chapter and Co-Chair of the WA Gender Equity Taskforce as well as member of the National Committee for Gender Equity, Louise is recognised for leading the charge in encouraging greater female participation and a more inclusive WA Chapter. Louise’s work includes, driving events and education initiatives, contribution to policy, advocating for women in leadership roles such as Chapter Councillors and Fellows, and collaborations with Parlour. She has also been a keen advocate for making membership more accessible for everyone, including younger members of the profession. Louise’s focus on equity extends to her architecture work, with her clear focus being on architecture for the community.  A valued project architect at Hillam Architects, Louise has contributed to a number of significant community projects in aged care and government education. She sees these important projects as having the potential to profoundly and positively impact the most vulnerable members of our West Australian community.



Light refreshments will be provided.

Tour Sponsor